



SAS Recipients of 2007 Faculty Awards



Members of the university community who have made outstanding contributions in the classroom, to their disciplines, or for the benefit of the community or the world were honored at a reception held May 2 at the home of President Richard L. McCormick.

Congratulations to the winners of this year's awards!

Scroll down, or click on an award name for a description of the award and the honorees from the SAS.

Click here for a photo gallery of most award recipients, and here for the Human Dignity Award presentation.

Rutgers Board of Trustees Fellowships for Scholarly Excellence

Manish Singh Jochen Hellbeck

Rutgers Board of Trustees Award for Excellence in Research

Alan Prince Elizabeth A. Grosz Kate Flint

Warren I. Susman Award for Excellence in Teaching

Paul G. E. Clemens

Ernest E. McMahon Class of 1930 Award

Maurice J. Elias

The Rutgers Human Dignity Award

Cheryl A. Wall

The Rutgers Board of Trustees Fellowships for Scholarly Excellence honor faculty members who have recently been promoted with tenure and whose work shows exceptional promise. The fellowship includes a citation and a \$2,000 research grant.

Manish Singh, associate professor of psychology, Rutgers Center for Cognitive Science, New Brunswick, was honored for his contributions to the understanding of how the visual system interprets and organizes low-level sensory information, and his ability to combine computation with psychophysics.

Jochen Hellbeck, associate professor of history, New Brunswick, was honored for his work in Russian, Soviet, and European history, particularly his exploration of Soviet subjectivity and the formation of personality.

The Rutgers Board of Trustees Award for Excellence in Research, the university's highest honor for distinguished research contributions, includes a citation and a check for \$1,000.

Alan Prince, professor of linguistics, Rutgers Center for Cognitive Science, New Brunswick, was honored for his work in prosodic phonology and morphology, and in his creation of Optimality Theory which has guided the fields of linguistics and cognitive science.

Elizabeth A. Grosz, professor of women's and gender studies, New Brunswick, was honored for her scholarship in the fields of philosophy, architecture, and science studies, and her contributions in creating and defining the field of feminist philosophy.

Kate Flint, professor of English, New Brunswick, was honored for her contributions to the cultural and literary history of 19th-century Britain, through her publications that have opened new pathways of research in Victorian studies.

The Warren I. Susman Award for Excellence in Teaching is the university's highest honor for excellence in the classroom. It honors the memory of a prominent cultural historian and popular teacher, and includes a citation and a check for \$1,000.

Paul G. E. Clemens, professor of history, New Brunswick, was recognized for his contributions to undergraduate and graduate education in the field of American history. He also was honored for his efforts to improve the quality of undergraduate and graduate education, and his ability to make history accessible while challenging students to think deeply and analyze issues thoroughly.

The Ernest E. McMahon Class of 1930 Award honors the memory of a former dean of University College. It honors outstanding efforts to extend the mission and educational resources of Rutgers to the people of the state. The award includes a citation and a \$1,000 check.

Maurice J. Elias, professor of psychology, New Brunswick, was honored for his community-based action research programs; his leadership in developing social-emotional learning and character education, which provides children with positive skills to deal with conflict and to guide their lives; his involvement in curriculum development with the Plainfield school system establishing a program that builds student skills; and his work building a safe environment that supports positive school performance.

Rutgers University Human Dignity Awards, funded by the Office of the President through The Committee to Advance Our Common Purposes, will honor up to three individuals or groups who have demonstrated extraordinary achievement and commitment in promoting the value and importance of diversity at Rutgers and in society. Each of the recipients will receive a citation and a \$1,500 honorarium. In addition, a \$500 honorarium will be awarded to the organization, college, or academic administrative unit of the recipient's choice for program enhancements.

Cheryl A. Wall is the former chair of the Department of English and remains active in university affairs. In 2003, she was co-principal

with Mary Hartman of the Institute for Women's Leadership on "Reaffirming Action: Designs for Diversity in Higher Education." This Ford Foundation-funded initiative examined the strategies higher education institutions successfully employ to enhance racial and gender equity. Most recently, Wall was selected to serve as vice chair of the Steering Committee on Implementation, a body organized to enact sweeping changes in undergraduate education at Rutgers.

Last Updated (Tuesday, 12 June 2007)

[Back]

© Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, An equal opportunity, affirmative action institution. Editor Login -- Administrator Login