

RUTGERS POLICY

Section: 50.1.8

Section Title: Administrative Governance

Policy Name: Membership

Formerly Book: 2.1.1

Approval Authority: Board of Governors

Responsible Executive: Secretary of the Boards

Responsible Office: Secretary of the Boards

Originally Issued: 1959

Revisions: 9/90

Policy:

Membership.

- A. The legislative body of each college or school except as specified below shall consist of the President of the University, the Provost, and the following officers of that college or school: the Dean, the professors, the associate professors, the assistant professors, the instructors who have served at least one year; members of the research and extension staff of the college or school of the equivalent rank and service; and such other officers of the University as the legislative body may designate. Other officers may be invited by any legislative body to its meetings and may take part in the discussion but shall not vote.
- B. The legislative body of the Graduate School on each campus of the University shall consist of the President, the campus Provost, the Dean of the Graduate School on that campus, the Deans and directors of the various academic units on that campus, and those resident officers of instruction and research of the University, above the rank of instructor, who are appointed to the graduate faculty of that Graduate School by the President of the University on nomination by the Dean of that Graduate School. Scholarship and competence for graduate instruction will be the basis for admission to the graduate faculty.
- C. The voting legislative body of the Graduate School of Applied and Professional Psychology shall consist of the President of the University, the Provost-New Brunswick, and the following officers of the School: the Dean, the professors, the associate professors, the assistant

All regulations and procedures are subject to amendment. Page 1 of 2

0.	rofessors, the instructors who have served at least one year, and those part-time faculty, all f whom are appointed on a yearly basis, who are designated by the Dean and the committee on Appointments and Promotions.
All regulations Page 2 of 2	and procedures are subject to amendment.